icon of person Membership icon of ticket Buy Tickets

Cincinnati Zoo Director Thane Maynard

Thane Maynard is internationally known for his dedication to wildlife preservation, research, and education. He has authored more than a dozen books, the most recent, “Hope For Animals & Their World,” was coauthored with Jane Goodall. He has also shared science and environmental news via his nationally syndicated radio program, “The 90-Second Naturalist,” since 1987.

Expand for more

Maynard’s travels to promote biological diversity, natural history, and wildlife conservation have spanned five continents and earned him a membership in the Explorers Club.  He is an active member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA), and a member of the Board of Trustees for the Margo Marsh Biodiversity Foundation, a primate conservation fund headquartered in Washington, D.C.

Born and raised in central Florida, Thane earned his bachelor’s degree in environmental studies from Rollins College in Winter Park, Fl., and his master’s degree in wildlife ecology from the University of Michigan School of Natural Resources.  He is also a graduate of the Strategic Perspectives in Nonprofit Management program at the Harvard Business School, as well as the first National Education Leadership Institute sponsored by WWF and Disney.

Zoo Director Thane Maynard holding a small alligator in front of a large rock

Zoo Board and Committee Members

2024 Executive Committee2024 Trustees2024 Foundation Board of DirectorsAmbassador Council Members (2022-2023)

Officers & Executive Committee

George Molinsky, Chairman

George Joseph, Vice Chair

Peter Ragland, Secretary

Tim Bonacci, Treasurer

Stuart Dornette, Legal Counsel

Immediate Past Chair: Francie Hiltz


Eileen Barrett

Chris Bevacqua

Cathy Crain

Jane Novak-Cook

Jack Oliver II

Sarah Anderson

Tim Bonacci

Meredith Borchers

Doug Brendamour

Jen Castellini **

Lucy Christensen Davis

Lela Coffey

Bob Coughlin

Marc Dizard

Brett Heekin

Austin Heidt

Gigi Heidt

Jan Michele Kearney**

Peter Klekamp

Tim Massa

Adam Mueller

Katie O’Brien

Paaras Parker**

Mike Prescott

Daniel Rajaiah*

Pam Rossmann

Anya Sanchez

Matt Sheakley

Valarie Sheppard

Albert Smitherman

Greg Taylor

Linda Lee Thomas

Carla Walker*

Bill (William) Weyand

Craig Young

Ex-Officio Mayor Aftab Purvel

*  appointed by Cincinnati City Council | ** appointed by Hamilton County | Terms Jan – Dec

Executive Committee

Patrick Dolle, Chairman

Chris Hock, Vice Chairman

Aaron Herzig, Secretary

Sarah Zamary, Treasurer

Otto Budig, Chairman Emeritus


Linnea Bonacci

Carri Chandler

John Dovich

Jim Ellerhorst

Katie Heekin

Chris Hock

Donald Hudson

Eric Kahn

Leah Lepof

Sally Leyman

George Musekamp

Cora Ogle

Ashwin Ramprasad

Bill Witten


Portfolio Managers: Ft. Washington Investments

Ambassador Council Chair:

Meera Kotagal

Ambassador Council Members:

Steven Bishop
Anna Miller
Alex Blust
Christina Misali
Kelly Bonnell
Sam Rittgers
Maggie Brennan
Emily Rotella
Brian Butt
Aditya Roy-Chaudhury
Sara Cooperrider
David Snopkowski
Danielle Donelan
Hannah Sublett
Ryan English
Marcus Thompson
Aleicia Ennis
Katie Tranter
David Habel
Alana Tucker
Dominic Iacobucci
Ashley Volbrecht
Andrew Kiley
Mariel Wood
Jerome Wright
Josh Martin
Thomas Xanders
Michael Young