Thane Maynard Awarded Honorary Doctoral Degree

Posted June 9, 2012

Maynard Receives Honorary Doctorate of Science from UC

CINCINNATI —Thane Maynard, Executive Director of the Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden, was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science Degree from the University of Cincinnati on Saturday, June 9, during UC’s Commencement Ceremony at Fifth Third Arena.

The Honorary Doctoral Degree is the highest award to be bestowed by the University of Cincinnati. The honor recognizes individuals for their ideals and outstanding achievements. Maynard’s ideology reflects that of the Cincinnati Zoo: to tell the story of biological diversity, natural history, and wildlife conservation to the general public. Growing up in central Florida, Maynard had the benefit of exploring the low country swamps before development took over.

Due to his initial interest in nature and wildlife, Maynard graduated from Rollins College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Environmental Studies. After that, he continued on to receive his Master of Science Degree in Wildlife Ecology from the University of Michigan of Natural Resources.

The honorary degree awarded from the University of Cincinnati represents the highest award the university can bestow. In addition to Maynard’s work with the Zoo, he is a current member in the American Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA), a member of the Board of Trustees for the Margo Marsh Biodiversity Foundation in Washington D.C., and actively involved in the Cincinnati community as a member of the Leadership Cincinnati Class XVII. Maynard has also written a total of thirteen books on wildlife. His most recent, Hope for Animals & their World, came out in 2009 and was co-authored with Jane Goodall.

text your ex back

Maynard also shares science education and environmental news through his nationwide radio program, “90-Second Naturalist.” Due to Maynard’s devotion and passion to natural science, he has become one of the most well-known zoo directors across the country and recognized across the globe for his commitment to wildlife preservation, research and education.