Learn How Bees Are a Sweet Link for Coexistence and Sustainable Development in Gorongosa National Park

Gorongosa Park is known as the “flagship” of Mozambique’s protected areas. Like many other Protected Areas in the world, Gorongosa National Park faces threats. However, rangers and communities are keeping this place on its feet. Seeing conservation of biodiversity and human development as two sides of the same coin, Gorongosa takes a landscape approach when thinking and addressing these challenges. In a landscape shared between people and wildlife, wildlife conservation will only be possible with people’s willingness to coexist with wildlife, especially elephants. For coexistence between people and elephants to be sustainable, it will need to be adaptive. From health care, education, sustainable agriculture, coffee, restoration, tourism, coexistence, and honey, bees are an essential part in addressing some of the biggest challenges for conservation in Gorongosa National Park. Join us for a live webinar with Dominique Gonçalves, a Mozambican ecologist, and Thane Maynard, Director of The Cincinnati Zoo to discuss this topic in-depth.

Listen Here

What you will learn:

  • How cooperation between a National Park and surrounding Communities is key for the conservation success story of Gorongosa National Park.
  • How working with bees is helping to address some of the biggest challenges for conservation in Gorongosa National Park such as human elephant conflict, food security and gender equality.
  • How Gorongosa took lessons from other places to bringbenefits to its communities and wildlife, and how this could be escalated to conservation efforts in Southern Africa.

Can’t make the live webinar on Friday? Register anyways, we’ll send you a recording afterwards.

Note: This is the second part of our seven part webinar series.

Speaker Bios

Dominique Gonçalves


Dominique Gonçalves is a Mozambican ecologist focused on elephant conservation working in the Gorongosa Project. She currently manages Gorongosa’s Elephant Ecology Project, investigating elephant movement and range expansion in relation to habitat use and human-elephant conflict. Working with communities, law enforcement and sustainable development colleagues, Gonçalves hopes to build coexistence between communities and wildlife throughout Gorongosa National Park’s buffer zone.

Thane Maynard

Director of The Cincinnati Zoo

Thane Maynard is one of the most prominent directors of zoos across the country and is internationally known for his innovation and dedication to wildlife preservation, research and education. Maynard is recognized as well for building both educational and research partnerships between the zoo and University of Cincinnati.

CZBG’s Wildlife Conservation Award

The year 2019 marks the 27th anniversary of the Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden’s Wildlife Conservation Award. Each year, the Zoo invites several of the world’s leading conservationists and scientists to participate in this series and presents its annual Wildlife Conservation Award to one of the speakers.  The list of internationally known conservationists who have been honored with this award is impressive.  Click the button below to see Wildlife Conservation Award recipients:

Cincinnati Zoo Wildlife Conservation Award Recipients

1993 – Dame Jane Goodall
1995 – Roger Tory Peterson
1997 – Russ Mittermeier
1999 – Ted Turner
2001 – Peter Raven
2003 – George Schaller
2006 – Dr. David Western
2008 – Robert Kennedy
2010 – Alan Rabinowitz
2013 – John Kamanga
2015 – Tico McNutt
2017 – Dr. Craig Packer
2019 – Mike Fay
1994 – E. O. Wilson
1996 – Birute Galdikas
1998 – Richard Leakey
2000 – Laurie Marker and Cathryn Hilker
2002 – Wangari Mathaai
2005 – Cynthia Moss
2007 – Dr. Mark Plotkin
2009 – Iain Douglas-Hamilton
2012 – Sharon Matola
2014 – John Ruthven
2016 – Suzana Padua, Ph.D & Claudio Padua, Ph.D
2018 – Dr. Amy Dickman
2020 –  Dr. Thomas Lovejoy